You Don’t Know Who You Know

Story time!

When I finished writing my second novel a week or so ago, I went into my workplace (my paying job is a grocery store) and told most of my coworkers–with much delight–what I’d done. I wasn’t expecting too much, just wanted to tell my work friends about what’s been going on. It also gave me something to say when they asked what I did on my vacation.

One of my coworkers, a silly and lovable lady named Marilyn, gave me what I think was the best response to “I just wrote a book.”

“Get it published!” she said.

I laughed and said, “Marilyn, it’s not that easy.”

A few days ago at work, Marilyn said, “Scotty, did you get that book published?”

And I said, “Marilyn, it’s really not that easy. Getting published takes a lot of work and a LOT of time. Even after I edit the damned manuscript four times over, I still have to find an agent and be able to pitch the story to a publisher in such a way that it stands out from the rest of the slush they have to consider. I have to do this, I have to do that, I have to do the other thing.”

Half an hour later, Marilyn called me to the front end and told me that she’d had a customer–one who was a regular–go through her line. She told me that the woman said something along the lines of, “I’m thinking of going back to work soon. I’ve been out for about four years.”

Marilyn told me she asked the woman where she worked, and the woman said, “I worked in publishing.”

Marilyn told me that she then proceeded to tell the woman about how I’d written two books and was working on my third, and that I’d told her getting published was a huge fiasco.

Marilyn said that the woman told her she would bring in some sort of contact information regarding the publisher she worked for.

I think I peed a little.

I’m not saying it will lead to anything. I’m not anywhere near naive enough to assume something will actually come of this. All I’m saying is, you never know. If it DOES ever lead to…I don’t know…something…it will be because I work in a grocery store, and because I have a coworker who talks too much.

They say everyone in the world is connected by an average of six degrees of separation. You know more people than you think.

2 responses to “You Don’t Know Who You Know

Leave a Reply

